Home

North Indian Cuisine

 I like Indian food. I like to read about food and to write about food. But here I can only write about Indian vegetarian food because I never tried anything non-veg in India. Altough Indian cuisine consists of both veg and non-veg dishes I think that the traditional Indian cuisine consists mostly of the veg dishes while non-veg are the mixture of east and west.

The most popular Indian dish is called thali which literally means plate. It is a selection of different dishes served on a round tray. Typical North Indian thali consists of rice, daal, some vegetable curry, roti/papad, curd and a sweet dish. But this can also vary from region to region, from restaurant to restaurant.

Simple North Indian Thali: rice, curd, veg curry, paneer masala, salad, papad and roti.

The biggest thali I have ever tried was the Rajasthani thali, consisting of  17 different preparations. Gujarati and Rajasthani cuisines have many sweet dishes on the thali.

Rajasthani thali

Unlike the South, in the North Indian cuisine different types of breads are very popular. They are known by different names in different regions: naan, roti, chapati, paratha etc.

Palak paneer, daal makhani and butter naan

Among them Tandoori roti is the most  popular in U.P. and Punjab. Tandoor is a cyllindrical clay oven used for cooking and baking. It is mostly used for making tandoori breads like tandoori roti and tandoori naan. In Punjab tandoori chicken is a very popular dish.

Making of tandoori roti

Tandoor

One of the most important parts of Indian cuisine is masala, a mixture of spices. There are many different masalas which give different flavours to the food. The most common masala on the North is garam masala. Garam means hot. Garam masala consists of black cumin powder, cardamon powder, star anise, turmeric and black pepper. Every region has it’s own variety.

Spice bazaar, Delhi

While thalis are popular in the restaurants, in North Indian homes you will find very simple dishes: rice, vegetable curry and some type of bread.

Simple lunch: rice, potato curry and roti.

For those who don’t like Indian food there is a variety of non-indian food on the North and in the big cities like Mumbai, Kolkata, Chennai, Bangalore etc.

Chinese noodles

Sandwiches

Pancake

Jewish dish

8 thoughts on “North Indian cuisine

  1. I miss so much Indian food…there you can eat whatever you like at every corner… ! And everything is so simple but still very delicious!

  2. Absolutely delicious! I now cook Indian food myself when not in India (I live in Israel part of the year and India part of the year) thanks to my Indian friends who brought me into their own kitchens and taught me the secrets of successful Indian cooking…which reminds me – have to get my chapati dough prepared so I will have for my lunch time today!!
    thanks for the post and the lovely photos
    Jane

    • yes, u surely know all the secrets of successful indian cooking… i saw your aloo paranthas on ur blog…they look so delicious!
      btw. it was me commenting ur cotton silk tree photos on facebook:)

  3. thanks…yes, I know it was you…that’s how I found YOUR blog…I didn’t see a comment but you clicked “like” and that was the first time someone did that on my blog. 🙂
    I intend to go further into your blog. I love reading anything about India and love reading about other people’s experiences there.

Leave a Reply

